The English Premier League No Longer Has a Dominant Team

A coach who has a strong personality and shrewdness is also vital to the success of a club. The team has had superstars in that period: notably, Eric Cantona, Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney, and Robin Van Persie.


The English Premier League appears to have entered an era where no outstanding club reigns. Buying of players is one of the main reasons the balance of English club power is changing. Chelsea and Arsenal have won thrice, and Manchester City and Blackburn Rovers once each.

Equal Contenders

As things stand now, there is no dominant club in the English League; rather a number of teams stand equal chance of taking the title. No doubt, manager Moyes is trying to rebuild the outfit.


When Alex Ferguson arrived at Man United from Aberdeen in 1986, his expressed desire was to knock Liverpool off the top of English soccer. The other competitors have been in the shadow of United in this era. Four teams have won it among themselves the eight times that Manchester United did not win. The club has won 18 first division titles, and most came from this era. This term, they have lost even to West Bromwich Albion at home. During this period, they also won four European club honors, besides other honors. No doubt, other teams have occasionally grabbed the honors in between. Since 1990, the outfit has never won the domestic title; but in 2005, they won the UEFA champions league fifth time by beating AC Milan against the odds. Manchester United and Tottenham are farther back, with the only realistic hope being Europa League places.

Alex Ferguson retired in 2013 after taking his 13th PL title; and former Everton manager David Moyes took over. Since then, they have won a further 12 titles. Right now, the English Premier League seems to have entered a period where there is no dominant side. A side like Manchester City has assembled some of the best players in the world, owing to the purchasing power at their disposal.

Since the 1970s, two teams have dominated the English top tier soccer competition. Instead, a number of teams that are equal seem to be set to challenge for honors going forward. Arsenal itself has had an American majority shareholder since 2011.

Liverpool dominated the domestic scene from 1975 to 1990. It used to be very hard to beat them at Old Trafford but that seems to have changed. Sheikh Mansour bought Manchester City, and Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich bought Chelsea. Time will prove whether a certain team emerges as the alpha male.

. Liverpool ruled the 70s and the 80s, while Manchester United has ruled from the 90s until now. Manchester United and Liverpool have also come under American owners in the last few years. Alex Ferguson was both shrewd and an inspirational manager; so is Jose Mourinho.

The last few years have seen wealthy individuals and groups buy English clubs, which has enabled them to buy world-class foreign players. The year 2008 saw them win UEFA champions league against Chelsea. Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester City, and Liverpool are all in a position to be crowned champions. In 1998, the club won the famous treble- the PL, FA, and UEFA Champions League. However, the club has lately experienced resurgence and is a genuine title contender.

The Era of Liverpool

The Era of Manchester United

The year 1992 saw the top teams break away from the football league to form the Premier league, which gave them more TV rights. The top teams seem to have equal strength, unlike Germany where Bayern Munich reigns or Spain where Real Madrid and Barcelona rule alternately.

Having a galaxy of players may not always guarantee victory, but many times, it may do. Kenny Dalglish was the star of the 80s. He spent a few years revamping United, and in 1991 won the UEFA cup winners’ cup and the UEFA super cup. The year 1992 saw them win the inaugural Premier League title. Manchester united has taken a dip in form that the league has not known for years. Manchester United won the first title. As things are, the club is in real danger of missing a chance of 2014/15 UEFA Champions League. The club has won an amazing 13 titles since then. The club was then a European soccer superpower. During the Ferguson years, the side also won five FA cups

Posted by admin on August 12th, 2015 :: Filed under Uncategorized
You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.